Bulldogs Highlights

General Information

  • Conference: SEC (1993)
  • NCAA Division: Division 1
  • City: Starkville, Missisippi
  • Stadium: Davis Wade Stadium


  • National Championships: 1 (unclaimed)
  • Conference Titles: 1
  • Divisional Championships: 1

Past Conferences:

  • Southern Conference (1921-1932).

Missisippi State Bulldogs Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Misissippi State Bulldogs Standings & Records

Passing Yards

  • Will Rogers: 10,189
  • Dak Prescott: 9,376
  • Wayne Madkin: 6,336
  • Nick Fitzgerald: 6,207
  • Kevin Fant: 5,631

Rushing Yards

  • Anthony Dixon: 3,994
  • Nick Fitzgerald: 3,607
  • Jerious Norwood: 3,222
  • Walter Packer: 2,820
  • Michael Davis: 2,721

Receiving Yards

  •  Fred Ross: 2,528
  •  Chad Bumphis: 2,270
  •  Mardye McDole: 2,214
  •  David Smith: 2,168
  •  Eric Moulds: 2,022

Misissippi State Bulldogs Football History

Team History

The Mississippi State Bulldogs began play in 1895. The Bulldogs joined the SEC in 1933.

Allyn McKeen was named head coach in 1939. The Bulldogs had eight straight winning seasons from 1939-1947. McKeen led the Bulldogs to a perfect 10-0-1 record in 1940. McKeen was named SEC Coach of the year. In 1941, the Bulldogs went undefeated in SEC play again and were crowned SEC Champions. It was their first and only SEC Championship. McKeen’s stint ended in 1948 and he finished with a 65–19–3 overall record.

The Bulldogs had just seven winning seasons from 1948 until 1972. Bob Tyler coached the Bulldogs from 1972-1978. The year 1974 was the Bulldogs’ most impressive season under Tyler, as they went 9-3 and won the Sun Bowl. The Bulldogs forfeited most of their wins during the ‘75, ‘76 and ‘77 seasons due to NCAA violations.

Emory Bellard was at the helm from 1979-1985. The 1980 and 1981 seasons were successful under Bellard. It was the Bulldogs’ only two winning seasons under him and they had a combined 17-7 overall record and a 9-3 SEC record.

From Underwhelming 80s to Coach of the Year

Jackie Sherrill became head coach in 1991. Sherrill led the Bulldogs to seven winning seasons and six bowl games. In 1998, Sherrill and the Bulldogs won the SEC West and earned a trip to the Cotton Bowl. The Bulldogs posted a 26-11 record from 1998-2000. They won bowl games in ‘99 and ‘00. Sherrill finished his tenure at Mississippi State with a 75–75–2 overall record.

Sylvester Croom coached the Bulldogs from 2004-2008. 2007 was successful for the Bulldogs. They finished 8-5, won the Liberty Bowl, and Crook was named Coach of the Year. Croom resigned after the 2008 season.

Dan Mullen was head coach of the Bulldogs from 2009-2017. The Bulldogs posted a winning record in each season from 2010-2015. In 2014, the Bulldogs finished with a 10-3 overall record and a 6-2 SEC record. They were led by quarterback Dak Prescott. At one point, the Bulldogs were ranked #1 in the AP poll. The Bulldogs won five bowl games under Mullen, and he finished his tenure with a 69–46 overall record.

Joe Moorhead served two years as head coach at Mississippi State. The Bulldogs finished 8-5 in 2018 and 6-7 in 2019. The Bulldogs appeared in two bowl games under Moorhead, and lost both.

Legendary coach Mike Leach became head coach of the Bulldogs in 2020. His first season was underwhelming. In his second season, the Bulldogs finished with a 7-6 record and lost in the Liberty Bowl.

What was the highest win total in Bulldogs history?

1940 remains the Bulldogs’ only undefeated season. They finished 10-0. 2014 was very successful for the Bulldogs also. They finished 10-2 behind quarterback Dak Prescott and were ranked #1 in the AP poll for a stint.

What was the worst season in bulldog history?

The Bulldogs have had a couple of winless seasons but their worst season came in 2003. They finished with a 2-10 record. The defense gave up nearly 475 total yards per game.

How many bowl games have the bulldogs made?

The Bulldogs have made 25 bowl games total. They currently hold a 14-11 overall bowl record.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks