NCAAF New Mexico Lobos

NCAA Division

Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)



Mountain West Conference (1999–present)


Past Conferences: 

Independent (1892–1930), Border Conference (1931–1950), Mountain States Conference (1951–1961), Western Athletic Conference (1962–1998)


City: Albuquerque, New Mexico


Stadium: University Stadium


Bowl Game Appearances: 13


Championships: 6

National Championships: None

Conference Titles: 4 (1938, 1962, 1963, 1964)

Divisional Championships: 2 (1997, 2016)


Team History

The New Mexico Lobos are a Division 1 FBS Football team based in Albuquerque, New Mexico. Initially founded in 1892, New Mexico has an overall record of 495–631–31.


New Mexico has had limited success as a program throughout its history. Aside from reaching the 1938 Sun Bowl and losing against Utah, the Lobos’ best stretch of football came in the mid-1960s, under Head Coach Bill Weeks. From 1961 to 1964, the Lobos went 29–12–1 for the best four-season record in program history, winning three straight conference titles in that stretch. 


New Mexico has appeared in 12 bowl games throughout its program history, posting a 4-8-1 record in those contests. Under Head Coach Rocky Long, the Lobos made it to three straight bowl games and five bowl appearances over six seasons. 


Check out all the updated New Mexico Lobos team stats, recent news and betting tips, here at Point Spreads. 


All-Time Records (CFB)


Passing yards

Stoney Case: 9,460

Jeremy Leach: 9,382

Donovan Porterie: 6,756

Casey Kelly: 5,449

Graham Leigh: 4,979


Rushing yards

Dontrell Moore: 4,956

Mike Williams: 3,862

Rodney Ferguson: 3,564

Winslow Oliver: 3,332

Kasey Carrier: 3,233


Receiving yards

Terance Mathis: 4,254

Carl Winston: 2,972

Hank Baskett: 2,288

Preston Dennard: 2,257

Travis Brown: 2,192



What Is the Highest Win Total in New Mexico Lobos Program History?

The 1982 New Mexico Lobos had a banner season, winning ten games with only one defeat under head coach Joe Morrison. The Lobos defense held opponents to 24 points or fewer in eight of their ten games; however, a 40-12 loss to the Brigham Young University Cougars cost them a shot at winning the Western Athletic Conference title that season, and they did not receive a bowl game invite. 

What Was the Worst Season in New Mexico Lobos Program History?

There have been many bad seasons in New Mexico Lobos program history, but none worse than the 1987 squad that went winless over 11 games under head coach Mike Sheppard. The Lobos’ defense yielded a nation-worst 40.4 points per game while being held to 16 points or fewer in five of their 11 contests that season.

How Many Bowl Games Did New Mexico Make?

The New Mexico Lobos have made 12 bowl game appearances  throughout their program history, with an overall record of four wins, eight losses and one tie. Under head coach Rocky Long, the Lobos made it to three straight bowl games and five bowl appearances over six seasons. Their last bowl game was in 2016, where the Lobos beat the University of Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners 23-20 in the New Mexico Bowl, which was held on their home field in Albuquerque. 

What Is New Mexico’s Nickname?

The Lobos. “Lobo” is the Spanish word for “Wolf” and was instituted in 1920 at the suggestion of school newspaper writer George S. Bryan, who also was a student manager of the football program at the same time. He wrote that the Lobo is cunning, fearless and the leader of the pack, and the name stuck with the school and its athletic programs to this day. 

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks