NCAAF UL Monroe Warhawks

General Information

Conference: Sun Belt
NCAA Division: Division I
City: Monroe, Louisiana


  • National Championships: 1
  • Conference Titles: 5
  • Divisional Championships:

Past Conferences:

  • NJCAA (1931–1950).
  • Independent (1951–1952).
  • Gulf States (1953–1971).
  • Independent (1972–1981).
  • Southland (1982–1993).
  • Independent (1994–2000).

All-Time UL Monroe Standings & Records

Passing yards:

  • Jake Delhomme: 9,216
  • Levi Lewis: 9,203
  • Terrance Broadway: 7,556
  • Jerry Babb: 6,241
  • Brian Mitchell: 5,447

Rushing yards:

  • Tyrell Fenroy: 4,646
  • Elijah McGuire: 4,312
  • Trey Ragas: 3,572
  • Brian Mitchell: 3,335
  • Alonzo Harris: 3,330

Receiving yards:

  • Brandon Stokley: 3,702
  • Fred Stamps: 2,789
  • Jamal Robinson: 2,653
  • Ja’Marcus Bradley: 2,359
  • Donald Richard: 2,326

Team History

UL Monroe, formally known as Northeast Louisiana State College started as a junior college from 1931-1950. In 1951, they hired James Malone as their head coach. They moved from the junior college division to the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA). He coached for a few years, and the stadium is named after him. The Warhawks went through a host of coaches from the 50s until the early 80s.

In 1981, the Warhawks hired Pat Collins to be the head coach. After a 5-6 finish in his first season, the Warhawks moved to the Southland Conference. During his seven-year stint, the Warhawks finished with a wing record five times. In 1987, the Warhawks finished 13-2 overall and won the Southland Conference. Additionally, they beat Marshall 43-42 in the National Championship. Collins finished his career with a 57–35 overall record, two conference championships and a National Championship.

Dave Roberts was at the helm from 1989-1993. Their first season was underwhelming but his remaining four seasons all ended with a winning record. In both 1990 and 1992, the Warhawks won the Southland Conference. Roberts left after the 1993 season to take an assistant coaching job at Notre Dame. He finished with a 37–20–2 overall record, a 24-7-1 conference record and three playoff appearances.

The Warhawks didn’t enjoy a single winning season for the remainder of the 90s.

In 2001, they joined the Sun Belt. Charlie Weatherbie coached the Warhawks from 2003-2009. Weatherbie didn’t lead the Warhawks to a single winning record, but they did manage to win the Sun Belt in 2005. However, his biggest moment came in 2007. The Warhawks went into Tuscaloosa and beat Alabama 21-14. He was relieved of his duties after the 2009 season.

Former UNLV offensive coordinator Todd Berry was named head coach ahead of the 2010 season. His first two seasons were underwhelming at the helm, as they finished with losing records both times. However, in 2012 they finished 8-5. The highlight of the season was beating the University of Arkansas in OT 34-31. They also played Auburn and Baylor fairly close during the 2012 season losing both games by a combined eight points. With their 8-5 finish, they were invited to the
2012 Independence Bowl. It was their first time clinching a bowl game. They went on to lose to the Ohio Bobcats. Things went downhill from 2013-2015 and Berry was relieved of his duty after the 2015 season. He finished with a 28–43 overall record, a 20-25 conference record and an 0-1 bowl record.

Former McNeese State head coach Matt Viator was hired to coach the Warhawks from 2016-2020. Viator led the Warhawks to four losing seasons during his five-year tenure. In 2018, the Warhawks finished 6-6 overall and 4-4 in conference play to make themselves bowl-eligible. Unfortunately, they didn’t get invited to a bowl game. Viator was fired after leading the Warhawks to an 0-10 season in 2020.

Terry Bowden is the current coach at UL Monroe. In 2021, he led the Warhawks to a 4-8 overall record and a 2-6 conference record.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks