Utah Utes



NCAAF Utah Utes

General Information

  • NCAA Division: Division I
  • Conference: Pac-12 (2011-Present)
  • City: Salt Lake City
  • Stadium: Rice-Eccles Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 26 (1922, 1926, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1931, 1932, 1933, 1938, 1940, 1941, 1942, 1947, 1948, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1957, 1964, 1995, 1999, 2003, 2004, 2008, 2021, 2022)
  • Divisional Titles: 4 (2015, 2018, 2019, 2021)

Past Conferences

  • Rocky Mountain
  • Skyline
  • Western Athletic
  • Mountain West

Utah Utes Football History

The Utah Utes are a Division I program located in Salt Lake City. Utah has been associated with the Pac-12 Conference since 2011 and is coached by Kyle Whittingham.
Utah has become a national contender, with nine straight winning seasons, including back-to-back trips to the Rose Bowl. The Utes have won 10 games or more seven times under Whittingham, highlighted by a 13-0 finish in 2008.
The Utes’ last bowl victory came in 2017 when they beat West Virginia 30-14 to win the Heart of Dallas Bowl. They’ve lost four straight bowls since then and are 17-8 in such games.
Whittingham is already the winningest coach in program history, with a record of 154-74 over 19 seasons. The Utes have gone to 16 bowl games under Whittingham, who was promoted from defensive coordinator following Utah’s undefeated regular season in 2004. He served as the interim co-head coach in the 2005 Fiesta Bowl, as Utah thumped Pittsburgh 35-7 to finish 12-0. He succeeded Urban Meyer, who left to coach Florida.
The Utes overcame the odds to return to the BCS in 2008 with a 31-17 victory over Alabama in the Sugar Bowl. They finished 13-0 as the nation’s only undefeated team and were ranked No. 2 in the final Associated Press poll. It remains the highest AP ranking in school history, although the school did climb to No. 3 in 2015.
Utah posted back-to-back 10-3 finishes in 2009 and 2010, before leaving the Mountain West Conference for the Pac-12 the following season. The Pac-12 also added Colorado, allowing the conference to split into two divisions for football.
The Utes captured their first Pac-12 title in 2021, then repeated as champions in 2022. In both instances, the Utes went 10-4 and lost in the Rose Bowl (Ohio State and Penn State, respectively). They’ve claimed 26 conference championships overall.
Notably, Utah has built a strong pipeline to the NFL. Its alumni base includes Pro Football Hall of Famers Mac Speedie and Larry Wilson and Pro Bowlers Dave Costa, Jamal Anderson, Luther Elliss, Steve Smith, Jordan Gross, Alex Smith, Eric Weddle, and Zane Beadles. Additionally, eight former Utes have been selected No. 1 in the NFL Draft: Lee Grosscup, Norm Thompson, Elliss, Kevin Dyson, Gross, Smith, Star Lotulelei, Garett Bolles, and Devin Lloyd.

All Time Records

Passing Yards

  •  Scott Mitchell: 8,981
  • Brian Johnson: 7,853
  • Mike McCoy: 7,404
  • Travis Wilson: 7,401
  • Tyler Huntley: 7,351

Rushing Yards

  • Zack Moss: 4,067
  • Eddie Johnson: 3,219
  • Tony Lindsay: 2,995
  •  Devontae Booker: 2,773
  • Chris Fuamatu-Ma’afala: 2,630

Receiving Yards

  •  Bryan Rowley: 3,143
  • Kevin Dyson: 2,726
  • Carl Harry: 2,283
  • Dennis Smith: 2,168
  • Dres Anderson: 2,077

What is the worst season in Utah program history?

The Utes posted back-to-back 1-10 seasons in 1974 and 1975. Those remain the only two seasons in which the school has suffered double-digit losses.

What is the Utah program record for wins in a season?

The Utes went a school-record 13-0 in 2008. They capped their undefeated season with a victory over Alabama in the Sugar Bowl and were ranked No. 2 in the final AP poll.

Who holds Utah’s all-time record for touchdown catches?

Brian Rowley caught a school-record 25 touchdown passes from 1989-93. Rowley also leads the school in career receiving yards (3,143)
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button



Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks