Redhawks Highlights

General Information

NCAA Division: Division I

Conference: Western Athletic Conference (2012-present)

Past Conferences: West Coast Athletic Conference

City: Seattle

Stadium: Redhawk Center/Climate Pledge Arena

NCAA Tournaments:

11 (1953, 1954, 1955, 1956, 1958, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1967, 1969)


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Tournament Titles: None
  • Conference Regular Season Titles: 2 (2007, 2022)

Seattle Redhawks Team History

The Seattle Redhawks are a Division I team located in Washington. Seattle currently competes in the Western Athletic Conference and is coached by Chris Victor. The Redhawks — formerly known as the Chieftains — were a member of Division I from 1946 to 1980, dropped to NAIA status, then moved back to Division I in 2008.

Seattle has advanced to the NCAA Tournament 11 times, including a run to the Final Four in 1958. Led by consensus First Team All-American Elgin Baylor, Seattle went 23-6, rose to No. 12 in the national polls, and strung together tournament wins over Wyoming, San Francisco, California, and Kansas State to reach the national championship game. Seattle lost 84-72 to Kentucky, though Baylor was named the Final Four’s Most Outstanding Player.

Following his junior season, Baylor was selected first overall by the Minneapolis Lakers in the NBA Draft. He went on to become an 11-time All-Star and is currently a member of both the Naismith Memorial and College Basketball Hall of Fame.

Making the NIT

Seattle made it back to the NCAA Tournament in 1961, 1962 and 1963, losing each time in the first round. In 1964, the school returned to the Sweet 16 following a victory over Oregon State. Keep in mind that precisely that year’s tournament involved only 25 schools, one more than 1958. Seattle’s other two NCAA Tournament appearances came in 1967 and 1969, and it also made the National Invitational Tournament in 1952 and 1957.

Seattle’s most recent postseason appearance came in the 2019 Tournament.

Coach Jim Hayford was placed on administrative leave before the 2021-22 season following an investigation into his use of racial slurs, and later resigned. Victor, his assistant, replaced him and led the Redhawks to 23 wins and the WAC regular season title, overcoming long preseason odds. Victor was subsequently named the WAC Coach of the Year.

Notable alumni include Eddie Miles, Johnny O’Brien, Eddie O’Brien, Frank Oleynick, and Clint Richardson.

All-Time Seattle Redhawks Records

Points Scored

  • Johnny O’Brien: 1,967
  • Eddie Miles: 1,823
  • Clint Richardson: 1,786


  • Elgin Baylor: 1,067
  • Jawann Oldham: 947
  • Stan Glowaski: 934


  • Morgan Means: 335
  • Cervante Burrell: 331
  • Terrell Brown: 290

Seattle Redhawks FAQs

Who is the winningest coach in Seattle program history?

Albert Brightman went 122-31 (.797) from 1952-56 and guided Seattle to four NCAA Tournament appearances.

What is the worst team in Seattle program history?

The 2012-13 Redhawks went 3-15 in Western Athletic Conference play and just 8-22 overall. They lost nine of their final 10 games.

When was the last time Seattle was ranked in the Associated Press poll?

Seattle hasn’t been ranked since it began the 1964-65 season at No. 15 in the poll.


Latest NCAAB News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks