Eagles Highlights

General Information

  • Conference: Mid-American Conference (1972–present)
  • NCAA Division: Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS)
  • City: Ypsilanti, Michigan
  • Stadium: Rynearson Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 10 (1896, 1925, 1927, 1928, 1929, 1930, 1954, 1955, 1957, 1987)
  • Divisional Championships: One (1987)
  • Bowl Game Appearances: 6

Past Conferences:

  •  Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association (1894-1926)
  • Michigan College Conference (1927-1930)
  • Interstate Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (1950-1961)
  • President’s Athletic Conference (1964-65)
  • Independent (1966-1972)

Eastern Michigan Eagles Stats & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Eastern Michigan Eagles Stats & Records

Passing yards

⦁ Walter Church: 9,142
⦁ Brogan Roback: 8,624
⦁ Charlie Batch: 7,592
⦁ Andy Schmitt: 5,867
⦁ Matt Bohnet: 4,988

Rushing yards

⦁ Gary Patton: 3,497
⦁ Anthony Sherrell: 2,888
⦁ Ricky Calhoun: 2,665
⦁ Shaq Vann: 2,602
⦁ Bobby Windom: 2,595

Receiving yards

⦁ Eric Deslauriers: 3,245
⦁ Kevin Walter: 2,838
⦁ Jermaine Sheffield: 2,043
⦁ Hassan Beydoun: 2,012
⦁ Jacory Stone: 1,851

Eastern Michigan Eagles – NCAAF History

The Eastern Michigan Eagles are a Division 1 FBS Football team based in Ypsilanti, Michigan. Founded in 1894, Eastern Michigan has an overall record of 432–530–47. During the mid-1920s, the program, then known as Michigan State Normal College, saw a period of success under Head Coach Elton Rynearson, whom their current stadium is named after. The squad posted undefeated seasons in 1925 and 1927 and later in 1943 and 1945, despite losing many players to World War II service; it got to the point where the program couldn’t field a team in 1944.

Head Coach Makes a Difference

During most of the latter half of the 20th Century, the Eagles’ team stats were one of the worst programs in Division 1 FBS, aside from a banner year in 1987, where the program clinched its first (and only one, to date) Mid-American Conference title, with a record of 10-2 and an upset win over San Jose State in the California Bowl, beating the Spartans 30-27 as 17.5 point underdogs to win their first ever bowl game.

After more losing seasons going into the 2000s, Eastern Michigan stats hired Head Coach Chris Creighton in 2014, and just two years later, the Eagles reached their second-ever bowl game after a 7-6 season, their first winning season since 1995. Creighton is still their head coach, making him the second longest-tenured coach in program history. The Eagles have reached 6 bowl games in their history, with the only victory coming in the aforementioned 1987 season.

Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks