Golden Hurricane



NCAAF Tulsa Golden Hurricane

General Information

Conference: American Athletic Conference

NCAA Division: Division 1

City: Tulsa, Oklahoma

Stadium: Skelly Field at H.A Chapman Stadium


  • National Championships: None
  • Conference Titles: 35
  • Divisional Championships: None

Past Conference:

  • Missouri Valley Conference (1935–1985).
  • Western Atlantic Conference (1996-2004).
  • Conference USA (2005-2013).

Tulsa Golden Hurricanes Standings & Analysis

Check out all the information related to team stats.

All-Time Tulsa Golden Hurricanes Standings & Records

Passing yards:

  • Dane Evans: 11,680
  • Paul Smith: 10,936
  • G.J. Kinne: 9,472
  • T.J. Rubley: 9,324
  • John Fitzgerald: 5,822


Rushing yards:

  • D’Angelo Brewer: 3,917
  • Shamari Brooks: 3,729
  • Tarrion Adams: 3,651
  • Michael Gunter: 3,536
  • Trey Watts: 3,515

Receiving yards:

  • Keylon Stokes: 3,582
  • Howard Twilley: 3,343
  • Dan Bitson: 3,300
  • Keevan Lucas: 3,250
  • Keyarris Garrett: 3,209

Tulsa Golden Hurricanes Football History

Team History

Tulsa University formerly known as Kindell College began play in 1895. Sam P. McBirney coached from 1914-1916 and led the Hurricanes to a 28-7 record.


Gus Henderson became head coach in 1925. The Golden Hurricanes were dominant under Henderson going 62-17-3 and four Oklahoma Intercollegiate Conference championships.


Henry Frnka was next up and picked up right where Henderson left off. The Golden Hurricanes went 40-9-1 in his five tenures, including three conference championships and a 2-3 bowl record. In 1942, the team went 10-0, and they appeared in the Sugar bowl against Tennessee.


Bobby Dobbs became head coach in 1955. He led the Golden Hurricanes to two winning seasons. In 1961, his brother and ex-Tulsa quarterback would take over as head coach. Glenn built a serious aerial attack for the Golden Hurricanes, and they were the nation’s top passing team from 1962-1966. Additionally, they went to the Bluebonnet Bowl in 1964 and 1965.


John Cooper coached from 1977 until 1984. The Golden Hurricanes dominated the MVC at that time with five straight MVC titles from 1980 through 1984.


David Rader coached at Tulsa from 1988-1999. During his tenure, the Golden Hurricanes only had one winning season. The team’s best season was 1991 when they finished 10-2 and won the Freedom Bowl.


From the 2000s On

Steve Kragthorpe was hired in 2003 and he brought winning back to Tulsa football. The Golden Hurricanes had winning records in three of his four seasons at the helm. They moved from the WAC to Conference USA in 2005. The Golden Hurricanes had a combined 29-22 record under Kragthorpe. He left Tulsa and became head coach at Louisville in 2007.


Coach Todd Graham was hired in 2007 and picked right up where Kragthorpe left off. They went 36-17 during his tenure and a perfect 3-0 in bowl games. Additionally, they won their division once and tied for first twice. Graham and the Golden Hurricanes did have a hiccup in 2009, where they finished 5-7. Except for that year, Tulsa went 31-10 under Graham. He was offered the job at Pittsburgh in 2011.


Former Tulsa player and Tulsa special teams coach Bill Blankenship became head coach in 2011. The Golden Hurricanes were pretty good in his first two seasons, with a combined 19-8 overall record. Additionally, they dominated the conference going 7-1 in each of his first two seasons. They won their division in 2013 and won the Liberty bowl. In 2014, Tulsa joined the American Athletic Conference. Blankenship went 3-9 in 2013 and 2-10 in 2014, and was fired.


 Philip Montgomery has been the head coach at Tulsa since 2015. Tulsa has three winning seasons under Montgomery and is 2-2 in bowl games. His most notable season was 2016, when the Golden Hurricanes finished 10-3 overall and 6-2 in Conference play. They went on to win the Miami bowl. Tulsa also had back-to-back winning seasons in 2020 and 2021, and back-to-back bowl appearances.


Tulsa Golden Hurricanes FAQ’s

What is the highest win total in program history?

The Golden Hurricanes won 11 games in 2008 and 2012. The 2008 team put up nearly 600 yards of total offense per game and won the conference. The 2012 team also posed a dominant offense averaging nearly 500 total yards per game. 

What was the worst season in program history?

The 2002 Golden Hurricanes finished with a 1-11 overall record. Their pass defense was solid but their run defense was abysmal. They gave up over 250 rush yards per game. 

How many bowl games have the Golden Hurricanes made?

The Golden Hurricanes currently have an 11-12 bowl record. They won three straight bowl games in 2007, 2008, and 2010. 


Follow us on Twitter

Latest NCAAF News

Back to top button






Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks