Alabama GP

Race Information

The race is over. Be sure to check the current IndyCar standings.
  • Course: Barber Motorsports Park, Birmingham, Alabama, USA
  • Course Length: 2.366 miles
  • Distance: 90 Laps, 207 miles
  • Date: April 28th, 2024
  • 2023 Winner: Scott McLaughlin

🏆 IndyCar Betting Odds

The Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix is the first road course race of the NTT IndyCar Season. It’s held at the Barber Motorsports Park in Birmingham, Alabama. It’s one of the newer races on the IndyCar schedule. The first IndyCar race was held in 2010 and it’s maintained its April or early May spot in every season since.

Currently, Josef Newgarden leads the IndyCar standings, but Scott Dixon and Colton Herta are close behind, intensifying the competition. This rivalry is likely to influence the IndyCar odds.

Alabama GP Odds

🚥 Barber Motorsports Park

Barber Motorsports Park, nestled on the outskirts of Birmingham, Alabama, is an expansive 880-acre multi-purpose racing facility established by George Barber. It features a 17-turn, 2.38-mile road course designed by Alan Wilson, renowned for its compact layout with multiple elevation changes, making it a prime venue for IndyCar racing. The track, which opened in 2003, is unique in its lack of general-access spectator seating at the start/finish line, offering spectacular views from naturally wooded areas and grass-covered banks along the track instead.

The park also houses the world-renowned Barber Vintage Motorsport Museum, acclaimed by the Guinness World Records as the “World’s Largest Motorcycle Museum.” This facility not only serves as a major tourist attraction but also supports numerous motorsport events, including the IndyCar Series, which has become a staple in the IndyCar race schedule. IndyCar drivers face challenging conditions here, especially during the critical qualifying sessions, which significantly influence their standings and strategies for race day.

Additionally, Barber Motorsports Park is equipped with modern facilities like the Paddock building, which includes a media center, race control area, and VIP viewing spaces. It hosts a variety of events year-round, from the North American Porsche Driving School to Mercedes-Benz brand experiences, further cementing its status as a premier motorsport venue often described as “The Augusta National of Motorsports.

IndyCar 2024 Schedule

IndyCar Series:

  • 3:40 p.m. ET – Practice 1

IndyCar Series:

  • 3:30 p.m. ET – Qualifying

IndyCar Series:

  • 1:00 p.m. ET – Race
IndyCar Results
1Scott McLaughlinTeam Penske
2Will PowerTeam Penske
3Linus LundqvistChip Ganassi
4Felix RosenqvistMeyer Shank
5Alex PalouChip Ganassi
6Christian LundgaardRahal Letterman Lanigan
7Santino FerrucciA.J. Foyt
8Colton HertaAndretti Global
9Marcus ArmstrongChip Ganassi
10Kyle KirkwoodAndretti Global

🏁 Alabama GP History & Highlights

Barber Motorsports Park opened in 2003. The circuit was designed by Alan Wilson and funded by George W. Barber, a former racecar driver and real estate developer.

IndyCar held testing sessions at Barber Motorsports Park in October 2007. After IndyCar unified with Champ Car, a potential race at the Alabama track was on the table for 2009. The success of the testing session and its proximity to the Honda Manufacturing of Alabama plant (Honda is an IndyCar engine supplier) were selling points for a future race.

It was later added for the 2010 IndyCar season as a replacement for the Detroit Indy Grand Prix. Barber Motorsports Park beat out potential events in Cleveland, Houston, Baltimore, Nashville, Charlotte, and Portland.

Hélio Castroneves won the inaugural race in 2010 for Team Penske, the first of six wins for the team. That preceded back-to-back wins for both two-time champion Will Power and 2012 champion Ryan Hunter-Reay, including the shortened 2014 race. Due to lightning policy, the race was postponed to later in the day and shortened to 69 laps. Two-time champion Josef Newgarden won three of the next four IndyCar races, including the 2018 race which was suspended and shortened due to heavy rain.

The race was canceled in 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic and was rescheduled in 2021. Patricio O’Ward won the 2022 Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix, the first under the new title sponsor.


Circuit Information

The Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix is the biggest event at the Barber Motorsports Park course. The fast, flowing circuit features 17 corners, most of which are medium-to-high speed.

The circuit is 45 feet wide and there is 80 feet of elevation change throughout the 2.366 mile-course. There are no permanent grandstands, so spectators typically watch from embankments or temporary grandstands put up for race weekends.

Patricio O’Ward set the IndyCar record for the fastest lap with a time of 1:06.8182 in the 2021 Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama.

NTT IndyCar Series FAQs

When was the first Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix?

The first Alabama Indy Grand Prix was held in 2010.

Who won last year’s Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix?

Scott McLaughlin won the 2023 Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix.

Who’s won the most Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix races?

Josef Newgarden has a record three wins at the Children’s of Alabama Indy Grand Prix.

Back to top button



Euro 2024 Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Copa America Final
Sunday, July 14, 2024
Submit your vote and view the results
Hey Again

vote all you can




Robot_subscription sombras
Subscribe to get
Thank you for subscribing subscribed_icon