Memphis Grizzlies Betting Stats

As one of the youngest NBA franchises, the Memphis Grizzlies don’t have a lot to brag about just yet. But this franchise has already established itself as a consistent contender. On the backs of Mike Conley and Marc Gasol, two of the Grizzlies’ stats leaders, Memphis has gained plenty of respect around the league.

Memphis has typically gotten better results than the outright NBA odds expect. So it’s not crazy to consider the Grizzlies a title contender even if they are floating around 25-1 from the futures table. From a game-to-game perspective, however, it can be challenging to find value on Memphis, as the books have wisened up to their abilities.

General Information

Conference & Division

  • Founded: 1995
  • Conference: Western
  • Division: Southwest

City: Memphis, Tennessee

Stadium: FedEx Forum

Championships & Titles


  • Division Title

Memphis Grizzlies All Time Records

Most points all-time:

  • Mike Conley, 11,733

Most rebounds all-time:

  • Marc Gasol, 5,942

Most assists all-time:

  • Mike Conley, 4,509

Most steals all-time:

  • Mike Conley, 1,161

Most blocks all-time:

  • Marc Gasol, 1,135

Most wins all-time (coach):

  • Lionel Hollins, 196

Memphis Grizzlies Stats & Team History

The Grizzlies originally were in Vancouver and were part of the NBA’s 1995 expansion into Canada alongside Toronto. But unlike their Eastern counterparts, the Grizzlies struggled both on and off the court and relocated to Memphis at the start of the 2001-02 season. Its outlook as a team also shifted here.

The team drafted Pau Gasol and he quickly became a new star for the team. With him as the franchise player, Memphis made consecutive trips to the NBA Playoffs. However, the team failed to win a single game going 0-16 with Gasol as their best player.

The team declined and became a lottery team, partly due to an injury to Gasol. By the 2007-08 season, Memphis was in rebuild. They traded Gasol to the Lakers for a package that included his younger brother, Marc Gasol. He, alongside Conley who was drafted a year earlier, became the central figure in what would be the franchise’s best years.

This would be known as the “Grit and Grind” era. With coach Lionel Hollins, new star Zach Randolph, and elite defender Tony Allen, Memphis became a top team in the Western Conference. In their return to the playoffs in 2011, Memphis upset the Spurs as an eighth seed. And in 2013, it advanced to its first Conference Finals.

Even after the franchise replaced Hollins with Dave Joerger, Memphis remained a formidable team until the 2016-17 season. Memphis began to decline again and Gasol and Conley were ultimately shipped out to begin a new rebuild.

In 2019, the franchise hired Taylor Jenkins as head coach and took Ja Morant with the second overall pick. The point guard proved to be an instant star as he won the Rookie of the Year award followed by the Most Improved Player two seasons later. Under Morant, the Grizzlies became another prolific team, also because of the efforts of Zach Kleiman. The Grizzlies’ new general manager, through shrewd tactics, built a contender around Morant.

Now, with Morant leading the Memphis Grizzlies’ team stats, this franchise could be headed for its best years since the Grit and Grind era.

Memphis Grizzlies FAQs

Why Are They Called the Memphis Grizzlies?

The Memphis Grizzlies got their nickname from the bear indigenous to British Columbia, the province where the franchise was originally established.

What Were the Memphis Grizzlies Originally Going to Be Called?

The Grizzlies were originally going to be called the “Vancouver Mounties”. But the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) objected to the name and thus, “Grizzlies” was selected.

Is Memphis Grizzlies the Same as Vancouver Grizzlies?

The Memphis Grizzlies were originally the Vancouver Grizzlies. The franchise relocated to Memphis during the 2001-02 NBA season and kept the name.
Follow us on Twitter

Latest NBA News

Back to top button

Point Spreads Logo

email icon

Bet like a PRO!

email icon

Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks