SSC Napoli Betting Stats

Napoli Stats
SSC Napoli

General Information


Stadio Diego Armando Maradona


Championships: 1987, 1990

Coppa Italia: 1962, 1976, 1987, 2012, 2014, 2020


  • UEFA Cup: 1989



SSC Napoli Stats & History

In 1922, two rival Neapolitan soccer clubs merged as Foot-Ball Club Internazionale-Naples. Their name was changed to Associazione Calcio Napoli in 1926 and the club had some rough early years. Thanks to forwards Attila Sallustro and Antonio Vojak, Napoli improved in the 1930s.

Napoli were relegated to Serie B for the first time in 1942 and would spend time bouncing around divisions after WWII. They moved to their current home the Stadio San Paolo, renamed for Diego Maradona, in 1959. Their first major trophy was the 1962 Coppa Italia, which they won over SPAL.

The Partenopei were relegated back to Serie B one season later, though. Napoli changed their name to the current Società Sportiva Calcio Napoli in 1964 and earned promotion back to Serie A in 1965. They nearly won the league in 1968 but finished in second to AC Milan.

During this period, midfielder Antonio Juliano broke the record for most appearances in the Napoli stats, which still stands. In the 70s, Napoli continued to contend for the Scudetto but were unable to win it. However, they won their second Coppa Italia trophy in 1976.

Serie A - Betting News

SSC Napoli Team Records

The biggest turning point in club history was signing Diego Maradona from Barcelona for a then-record transfer fee. The legendary Argentinian talisman led Napoli to their first ever Serie A title and the Coppa Italia in 1987. The title is a pivotal moment in the SSC Napoli team stats as they were the first ever Southern Italian team to win the Scudetto.

With Maradona, Napoli also won the 1989 UEFA Cup and another Scudetto in 1990. Maradona is widely recognized as the greatest player in club history. Post-Maradona, the club gradually declined, which culminated in relegation in 1999 and bankruptcy in 2004.

Aurelio de Laurentiis revived the club but they were placed in Serie C for the first time ever. Within three years, Napoli were back in Serie A and even made the Champions League in 2012. In the 2010s, with players like Lorenzo Insigne and all-time leading scorer Dries Mertens, Napoli went on to win two Coppa Italia titles.

Since their last promotion in 2007, Napoli have finished in second or third in Serie A on eight occasions. They also won the 2020 Coppa Italia but haven’t won a league title since the Maradona days.

Despite their 2021-22 title challenge, the Serie A odds are stacked against Napoli to win the Scudetto in 2022-23. They’re priced at +1200 odds and betting advice implies they’re the fourth-most likely team to win.


Did Diego Maradona play for Napoli?

Yes, the late Diego Maradona shocked the soccer world by joining Napoli from Barcelona in 1984. His spell in Naples was highly successful, with two Serie A titles, a Coppa Italia and a UEFA Cup to show for it.

When was the last time S.S.C. Napoli won the Scudetto?

Napoli’s last Serie A title win was in 1990, when Diego Maradona still played for the team. They’ve finished in second place on four occasions since then.

When did Napoli rename their stadium?

SSC Napoli’s stadium was formerly called the Stadio San Paolo. After Diego Maradona’s death in November 2020, the Naples City Council passed an ordinance renaming the stadium to Stadio Diego Armando Maradona.
Back to top button

Bet like a PRO!


Subscribe now and get Weekly Expert Free Picks